Reckless Driving Charges in Florida
Have you been ticketed for “reckless driving”? If so, what does that mean exactly? Well, here in Florida, reckless driving is a pretty big deal. Under Section 316.192 of the Florida Statutes, you’re guilty of reckless driving if you drive a vehicle with “willful or wanted disregard” for other people’s safety or property.
So, a lot of poor driving behaviors can be labeled as reckless driving. Here are some examples of reckless driving:
- You drive 50 mph in a school zone.
- You race through a crosswalk (without stopping) with people in it.
- As you drive down the freeway, you drive erratically, constantly changing lanes so you can get ahead of traffic.
- You get into an argument at a retail establishment. You storm out of the building and climb into your car. As you exit your parking spot, you nearly hit five people and you hit two vehicles in the process.
- A law enforcement officer tries to pull you over and you refuse to stop. Instead, try to evade capture.
- You race another vehicle at 70 mph on a side street in a business district.
What the Law Says
Reckless driving is against the law! A first conviction is punishable by a fine between $25 and $500, or up to 90 days in jail, or by a fine andimprisonment. A second reckless driving conviction is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine, or by up to 6 months in jail, or by a fine and imprisonment.
If while reckless driving, you hurt someone or damage property, you commit a misdemeanor of the first degree, and if you cause serious bodily injury while reckless driving, you are guilty of a felony of the third degree.
In addition to the above, a conviction for reckless driving in Florida leads to 4 points on your driving record. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is authorized to suspend the driving privilege of anyone who accumulates 12 or more points within a one-year period.
Related: Penalties for Damaging Property in Florida
Accused of reckless driving? Contact my West Palm Beach criminal defense firm at once for the legal guidance your charge demands.