Second DUI Penalties in Florida
It is against the law to drive under the influence of alcohol, illegal and prescription drugs, and chemical substances in Florida. Florida’s driving under the influence (DUI) law is covered under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes.
Like other states, Florida charges DUIs and misdemeanors and felonies. Generally, a first, second, or third DUI will be charged as a misdemeanor providing no one was seriously injured or killed as a result of the drunk or drunk driving incident. Fourth DUI offenses, however, are felonies under Florida law.
What Are the Penalties for a Second DUI?
In all states, DUI is a “priorable offense,” which means the penalties increase with each subsequent conviction. For the purposes of this article, I’m going to address the penalties for a second DUI in Florida. So, if you have a previous conviction for DUI in the state, this is what you’re facing assuming your blood alcohol level (BAL) was below 0.15%:
Penalties for Second DUI
- DUI School
- A fine between $1,000 and $2,000
- Up to nine months in jail
- Possibly up to 30 days vehicle impoundment
- Minimum five years license revocation (if second DUI was within 5 years of first offense)
- Installation of Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for at least one year
If you are facing charges for your second Florida DUI and your BAL at the time of arrest was 0.15% or above, you will face enhanced penalties. For example, the fines for a second DUI with a high BAL are up to $4,000. And instead of facing up to 9 months in jail, you would face up to 12 months in jail.
Next: Can I Get Fired for DUI?
Are you facing second DUI charges? If so, I urge you to contact my firm immediately for a hard-hitting DUI defense. As a West Palm Beach DUI attorney, I can help you explore all of your legal defenses, so you can pursue the best option.